winningkarma

Eulogy…

In Uncategorized on November 11, 2009 at 5:19 pm

Sadly, last Sunday (October 9 ) i witnessed  the passing of a great man- a member of our congregation.  When something happens in your presence you cannot help but be affected in some way. i knew this senior gentleman for a number of years now and he would always greet you with a cheerful disposition.

Mr. Babubhai Patel passed away from heart issues  in the place most closest to his heart. For me it is a poignant moment, because on the day I had given a speech and he was in attendance;i would make eye contact in his direction as he always listened intently with an endearing smile.

After his passing, I was told that he had spoken to my brother during my speech about  how I had made a transition from English into the mother language; he was very happy upon learning my love for culture and language, but then this was his style-a most noble soul-staunch in his beliefs and always very supportive. He may sometimes appear slightly reserved, but when he admired people, he went all out to tell them about it.

It didn’t really hit me until the day after that no more would we see his friendly face.  In time, we all must depart, but when we become accustomed to people being around us, it doesn’t make it any easier. We never feel that our friends, colleagues and relatives can actually die, but  then we are all mortal.

We can preserve the memory of the departed by recalling the things they did, humorous moments and touching memories.  It will be impossible to forget this individual.

Your legacy will always remain with the congregation. i end this with a fitting poem by Tagore.  God bless you.

At every turning of my life

At every turning of my life
I came across
Good friends,
Friends who stood by me
Even when the time raced me by.

Farewell, farewell
My friends
I smile and
Bid you goodbye.
No, shed no tears
For I need them not
All I need is your smile.

If you feel sad
Do think of me
For that’s what I’ll like.
When you live in the hearts
Of those you love
Remember then
You never die.

Rabindranath Tagore

Leave a Reply

